Article 176 of the Constitution establishes the County Assembly which shall consist of members elected by the registered voters of the wards; each ward constituting a single member constituency, on the same day as a general election of Members of Parliament, being the second Tuesday in August, in every fifth year; the number of special seat members necessary to ensure that no more than two-thirds of the membership of the assembly are of the same gender; the number of members of marginalized groups, including persons with disabilities and the youth, prescribed by an Act of Parliament; and the Speaker, who is an ex officio member.

The Siaya Assembly consists of the Speaker who is an ex officio member, 30 elected members representing 30 Wards and 18 nominated members of which 16 of the members are female thereby observing article177 of the COK 2010 on Membership of the County Assembly. The membership also includes members of marginalized groups, including persons with disabilities and the youth.

Siaya County is one of the forty seven (47) counties established under the new Constitution of Kenya 2010, made of the former Siaya district of as under the 1992 districts of Kenya and combines the current Siaya, Bondo, Rarieda and Ugunja districts. It is located in Nyanza province and borders Busia, Kakamega, Vihiga Kisumu, and Homabay counties. It also borders Lake Victoria, the second largest fresh water lake in the world.


Assembly News

Who's Online

We have 91 guests and no members online

Events Calendar

November 2019
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 1

Siaya Assembly Latest Tweets

Download Centre

Docs / SupportFull details about documents hosted in our downloads section below.

Image Gallery

Social Bookmark

FacebookTwitterGoogle BookmarksTechnoratiLinkedinMixxRSS FeedPinterest
Pin It
The County Assembly of Siaya. Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.