REPUBLIC OF KENYA

SIAYA COUNTY ASSEMBLY

THE HANSARD

Second County Assembly - First Session

Thursday, 9th November, 2017

The House met at the County Assembly Chamber at 4.00 p.m.

[The Speaker (Hon. Okode) in the Chair]

PRAYER

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH

SWEARING IN OF THE CHAIRPERSON OF COMMITTEES

(The Speaker administered the Oath of Allegiance to the chairperson of committeeselect, Hon. Andericus Oduor Odongo)

(Applause)

HON, ODONGO'S SPEECH UPON ELECTION AS CHAIRPERSON OF COMMITTEES

It is my pleasure to sincerely and wholeheartedly thank the Honorable Members in this House for having elected me as the Chair of the liaison Committee of this County Assembly. My work shall entail proper co-ordination of the various Committees to ensure that our legislative mandate is performed according to the requirements of the Standing Orders.

I want to reiterate that I shall be diligent and faithful to the Members of the House while executing my mandate. I endeavor to be objective and non- partisan in promoting the realization that devolution is fully entrenched in our County. It is my commitment that I shall work closely with the Office of the Speaker of the County Assembly to ensure timely legislation and related matters

Hon. Speaker: Next Order!

Thursday, 9th November, 2017 COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF SIAYA DEBATES

NOTICES OF MOTIONS

1. CONSTITUTION OF SPEAKER'S PANEL

Hon. Madialo: Thank you,Mr. Speaker, Sir, I beg to give notices of the following Motions:

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order No. 15, this House adopts the following list of part Members to the Speaker's panel as Laid on the Table of the House today, Thursday, 9th November, 2017:

a) Hon. Fredrick Opanga.

- Member

b) Hon. Jane Atieno.

- Member

2. CONSTITUTION OF SPEAKER'S COMMITTEE

THAT, this House adopts the following list of part Members to the Speaker's Committee as Laid on the Table of the House today, Thursday, 9th November, 2017:

c) Hon. George Okode.

- Chairperson

d) Hon. Bernard Peter Oor

MemberMember

e) Hon. Joannes Andiego

Hon. Morris Aringo

f)

- Member

3. CONSTITUTIONOFPOWERSANDPRIVILEGES COMMITTEE

THAT, pursuant to Standing Order No. 15 of the County Assembly's Powers and Privileges Act, 2017, this House adopts the following list of part Members to the County Assemblies Powers and Privileges, Laid on the Table of the House today, Thursday, 9th November, 2017:

a. Hon. George Okode

- Chairperson

b. Hon. Linda Juma

Member

c. Hon. Carren Ayika

MemberMember

d. Hon. Samuel Sigurue. Hon. Andrew Omwende

- Member

f. Hon. Edwin Otieno

- Member

g. Hon. Bernard Adalla

- Member

h. Hon. Agnes Awita

- Member

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE SIAYA COUNTY ASSEMBLY SERVICE BOARD

THAT, pursuant to Section 12 of the County Government Act, 2012 read together with Section 47 (a) (c) of the County Assemblies Service Act, 2017, this House adopts the nomination of the following Members of the Assembly to the Siaya County Assembly Service Board:

a. Mr. Eluid Onyango Owino

- Member

Disclaimer: The electronic version of the official Hansard Report is for information purposes Only. A certified version of this report can be obtained from the Hansard Editor.

b. Mrs. Margaret A. Olale

- Member

ADJOURNMENT

Hon. Speaker: Members can we be up standing for adjournment, and from next week we will be discussing the Governor's speech that will run for the whole week. Members, there being no other business this House stands adjourned until 14th Tuesday at 2.30 p.m.

The House rose at 4.18 p.m.